Otay Water District Inducts Three Board Members

induction of board members

Otay Water District Inducts Three Board Members

17:24 12 December in News

New Board Officers Elected

Spring Valley, CA – Otay Water District inducted three Board members at its Dec. 7 Board meeting to each serve four-year terms. The Board also elected new Board officers to lead the District’s Board for the next year.

Former Assemblymember of the 71st District Brian W. Jones inducted directors Hector Gastelum, who was newly elected and represents Division 4 and Mark Robak, who was re-elected, representing Division 5. Director Mitch Thompson’s, who represents Division 2, was inducted by his 15-year-old grandson Isaiah Diamond. Prior to the induction, the ceremony began with an invocation prayer for U.S. veterans who served in World War II in Pearl Harbor 75 years ago on Dec. 7, 1941.

Also at the Board meeting, the Board elected new officers for the next year, including President Mark Robak, Vice President Tim Smith serving Division 1 and Treasurer Mitch Thompson. Robak’s election as president follows one year of Board leadership under Mitch Thompson. Robak has served on the District’s Board for twelve years, since January 2005. Robak owns SDCRE, a commercial real estate company.

“Otay Water District serves a vital function of providing high value water and wastewater services to its customers, and I’m proud to be a part its leadership,” said Robak. “Our District continues to provide services at affordable rates and has a reputation for outstanding customer service. I plan to continue on this path and our customers should expect no less than my 100 percent commitment in my new role as president.”

Following the Oath of Office and vote of officers by the Board at its meeting, each of the directors immediately assumed all powers and duties of a member and/or officer of the Board of Directors.

Robak will serve as president through January 2018 when officer elections will again take place.

About the Board of Directors

The five-member Board of Directors is the governing body of the District and is responsible for setting rates for service, taxes, policies, ordinances, adopting the annual budget and other matters related to the management and operation of the water agency. Each director is elected by voters within one of five divisions to represent the public’s interest on the Board. Directors serve four-year terms in office.

About the Otay Water District

Otay Water District is a public agency providing water, wastewater and recycled water service to more than 220,000 customers within approximately 125 square miles of southeastern San Diego County. Customers served by the District include those in Spring Valley, La Presa, Rancho San Diego, Jamul, communities in eastern Chula Vista and Otay Mesa, and unincorporated areas. For more information about the District, please visit www.otaywater.gov.

Contact: Tenille M. Otero
Office: (619) 670-2256
Cell: (619) 733-1479